Nominations Being Accepted Now for the 2023 Indiana Master Farmer Awards

by | Feb 2, 2023 | Ag News, Indiana Agriculture News, News Feed

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2023 Indiana Master Farmer Awards. However, the deadline to submit is fast approaching on Wednesday, Feb. 15.

The awards are given out to Hoosier farmers who go above and beyond on the farm and in the community.

Any Indiana farmer can be nominated, but nominations come from their peers. A person can be nominated individually, or a couple can be nominated together if they are both actively involved in some facet of the farm operation. Honorees usually excel at farming, protecting natural resources, and providing leadership locally and beyond.

Three judges — Purdue University’s Dean of the College of Agriculture, a Purdue Extension representative and a past Master Farmer award winner — will judge among the completed nominations. There is no scorecard. Judges evaluate success in farming, stewardship of natural resources, and service to community and agriculture.

The award winners will be announced later this spring. This year’s award ceremony will be held in conjunction with the Indiana Farm Management Tour sponsored by Purdue’s Ag Economics Department, which will be scheduled for early to midsummer.

There are three ways to request a nomination form for the 2023 Indiana Master Farmer Award:

  • E-mail Tom Bechman (
  • Mail your request to Indiana Prairie Farmer, 599 N., 100 W., Franklin, IN 46131.
  • You can also call Tom Bechman at 317-431-8766.

The Indiana Master Farmer program began in the modern era in 1968. Over 200 farmers and more than a dozen Honorary Master Farmers have been honored.

The 2023 Indiana Master Farmer award is sponsored by Indiana Prairie Farmer and Purdue University’s College of Agriculture.


The photo above shows the 2022 Indiana Master Farmer Award winners. Top from left: Rob and Karen Dove, Elnora; David Hardin, Avon; Tom and Carol Nugent, Elnora; Mark and Sheryl Seib, Poseyville; and (bottom, from left) Greg and Deb Smoker, Wanatah. Honorary Master Farmers were Bob Cherry, Greenfield, and Gary Steinhardt, West Lafayette. Photos courtesy of Tom Bechman / Indiana Prairie Farmer.

Join HAT Newsletter

Ag News